Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
November 23, 2014, 04:16:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It takes up much less space in your bus.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: ProHeat Question  (Read 2973 times)
JackConrad
Orange Blossom Special II
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4447


73' MC-8 8V71/HT740 Southwest Florida


WWW
« on: December 05, 2007, 02:58:17 PM »

     I finished the installation of our ProHeat and fired it up. It Works!! EXCEPT after running for a while, I get a coolant flow diagnostic LED. Checking the troubleshooting manual it seems my system does not contain enough fluid, I have about 2 gallons in our system. Per Proheat manual, a minimum of 3 gallons of fluid is necessary to prevent fluid from heating to 185 degrees in less than 1 minute (causing 'Coolant Flow" fault).  Looks like I need to add a tank. Any suggestions on where in the system to install the tank and should it be a flow through design?  Thanks in advance, Jack
Logged

Growing Older Is Mandatory, Growing Up Is Optional
Arcadia, Florida, When we are home
http://s682.photobucket.com/albums/vv186/OBS-JC/
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2007, 03:05:31 PM »

Buy an air tank at lowes and drill and weld in a bung for filling, then one on the bottom for supply and one on top for return. Then mount it higher than your PH and it will gravity feed. There is a picture of mine in another thread about Proheats
Logged
gr8njt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 111


MCI-9 Crusader II


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2007, 04:06:08 PM »

FWIW, I have my "coolant storage tank" located between the Proheat and the "radiant-heat distribution-manifold".

The coolant storage tank I am using is a 5 gallon Force-10 Marine HWH. Paid $200 from eBay.
The Force10 is factory wired for 110V shore/campground AC power and engine coolant heating.
I can maintain some heat in this storage tank with the free 110VAC while at a campground.
I have my system set-up so that a "free wheeling" auxillary 12vdc pump (Zeke's) can provide heating without running the Proheat when at hooked-up at campgrounds.

The Force-10's "coolant heating coil", it can be independently connected to the Bus coolant system (next phase of project) for harnessing the heat while OTR or vice-versa (heating the bus engine from the Force-10 tank). All that is needed is a second auxillary pump like Zeke's ( www.zekesengineering.com ) that can run the coolant to the engine but will "free wheel" when the bus engine water pump is running.

Attached are some photos of my "Proheat System":
1. Force-10 Marine 5 gallon HWH used as a Proheat coolant reservoir below the potable water manifold
2. Plate exchanger from the "Proheat" for potable/shower hot water
3. Distribution/return manifold for house radiant-heating with the "Proheat" system
4. ProHeat installed in the water/tank bay.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2007, 05:03:50 PM by gr8njt » Logged

****1982 MCI-9 Crusader-II Bus Conversion****
R&M 102 C-3 style Front & Rear cap with louver kit
smooth side kit, dash-board kit, one piece siding
Jerry Liebler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1320




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2007, 04:28:57 PM »

Jack,
    I have one that came with my Webasto kit.  It's surplus, 2 or 3 gallons.  I've sent you a PM about it.  It would need to be high in the system and could also serve as a fill point.
Regards
Jerry 4107 1120
Logged
rcbishop
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 82




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2007, 05:05:42 PM »

Jack...be sure you have bled, bled, bled the system.  Smiley  Our Webasto did basically what you referred to until I did what I am espousing.  And, we have a radiant floor heating system in our home and it was exactly the same way,,,even with an expansion tank installed. When all the air is out of the system...no sign of bubbles and a free flow of coolant ( or whatever) as at your water faucet, my guess is that you will have no more problems.

I spent hours...no days... working thru the same thing and it all boiled down to what I have just stated.  Vehicle Systems, Sure Marine, and Ron the Bus Nut all participated in the experience.  I am not claiming to know all there is to know, but......I know whereof I speak.  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes

FWIW

RCB
'64 Crown Supercoach (HWC)
Logged
gr8njt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 111


MCI-9 Crusader II


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2007, 05:43:29 PM »

Pic of Zeke's auxillary pump installed in line with the Proheat coolant return pipe. As per manufactures recommendation, it is at the lowest posible location in the system.

And as RCB mentioned, bleeding the system free of air is a must.
My Proheat cannot pump the coolant if there is air in the system and end up overheating the stagnant coolant in the heating chamber thus causing "coolant flow" or "coolant temp" error.
I therefore used an automotive coolant reservoir tank (mounted at the highest posible location in relation to the Proheat system) to serve as 1.expansion tank, 2.fill up access  and 3.continuous air discharge point.
Logged

****1982 MCI-9 Crusader-II Bus Conversion****
R&M 102 C-3 style Front & Rear cap with louver kit
smooth side kit, dash-board kit, one piece siding
JackConrad
Orange Blossom Special II
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4447


73' MC-8 8V71/HT740 Southwest Florida


WWW
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2007, 05:55:34 PM »

    I installed a flow indicator in the line near the ProHeat pump. After installing, I noticed this flow indicator is for 5-30 GPM. Proheat specs say max of 8 GPM.  Rotor does not turn during ProHeat operation (not sure if there is enough flow for that flowmeter).   No air bubbles present and system was filled using an external pump with return in the bucket of fluid until on bubbles present.

Charley Davidson:
     How did you dertermine your OEM ProHeat pump was bad?   Jack
Logged

Growing Older Is Mandatory, Growing Up Is Optional
Arcadia, Florida, When we are home
http://s682.photobucket.com/albums/vv186/OBS-JC/
JohnEd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4571




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2007, 08:15:18 PM »

GR8,

You da man!  That is one hel* of a good looking install.  I hope I get the chance to stare at it for a couple of hours with a blank look on my face one of these days.

John
Logged

"An uneducated vote is a treasonous act more damaging than any treachery of the battlefield.
The price of apathy towards public affairs is to be ruled by evil men." Plato
“We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light.”
—Pla
captain ron
Guest

« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2007, 10:09:43 PM »

Jack, If your flow indicator is set off it's probably your pump. Pull your pump and try it with the proper voltage. The pump is a magnetic drive set up and may have failed on you. you can replace it with a 110 volt pump (does not free wheel) or try the one gr8njt used. If you use the one I did you need to use a led marker light to trick your computer. Mine is working fine I love it and we have snow and cooooold
Logged
Dreamscape
Guest

« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2007, 03:34:59 AM »

Jack and others,

This topic, Proheat Installation should be put into print and located in the Bus Conversion magazine. I have learned a great deal from reading all of the posts the you guys have put out. I'm still collecting all of the necessary components to add to mine when I install it in the spring.

It would be a great article for all of us and newbies who are undertaking such a project.

Charlie, glad to hear yours is working for you.

GR8, nice clean installation. A model for others.

Good Luck to All,

Paul
Logged
tomhamrick
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 385




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2007, 05:33:52 AM »

Jack, I bought a 12 gallon Lowes home water heater and use it as my storage for the Webasto. The water heater has two inlets and two outlets so my design uses two independent loops for the system. The Webasto just has the tank in it's loop and keeps the water at 180 degrees. The second loop out of the tank with it's own pump is what feeds my radiators in the bus. Without the storage tank, my water was cycling through too fast and never got hot enough.
Tom Hamrick
1984 Eagle 10S
Logged

Tom Hamrick
1991 Prevost H3-40 VIP
1981 Eagle 10
Forest City, NC
makemineatwostroke
Guest

« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2007, 05:56:50 AM »

Jack, you could also check the Hurricane heating site for answers being that it is the same unit just ProHeats equal to the AquaHots system.I have the Hurricane (proheat) 50000 BTU unit in my bus and love it
Logged
JackConrad
Orange Blossom Special II
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4447


73' MC-8 8V71/HT740 Southwest Florida


WWW
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2007, 07:45:34 AM »

Jack, I bought a 12 gallon Lowe's home water heater and use it as my storage for the Webasto. The water heater has two inlets and two outlets so my design uses two independent loops for the system. The Webasto just has the tank in it's loop and keeps the water at 180 degrees. The second loop out of the tank with it's own pump is what feeds my radiators in the bus. Without the storage tank, my water was cycling through too fast and never got hot enough.
Tom Hamrick
1984 Eagle 10S

Hmmm, this sounds interesting. I'll have to think about this.  I did some more testing this AM and found that with an additional gallon of fluid in a bucket and an additional pump in the circuit, everything works as it should. When I turn off the auxiliary pump (this is a flow through centrifugal pump), The flow indicator stops turning. Looks like I need a replacement pump and a little more volume.
   Well, we are getting ready to go to a Bluegrass Festival, so this will wait until we return on Sunday.  I will post updates as they occur.  Thanks for all the help.  Jack
« Last Edit: December 06, 2007, 08:02:55 AM by JackConrad » Logged

Growing Older Is Mandatory, Growing Up Is Optional
Arcadia, Florida, When we are home
http://s682.photobucket.com/albums/vv186/OBS-JC/
Songman
Guest

« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2007, 07:54:54 AM »

Jack, you could also check the Hurricane heating site for answers being that it is the same unit just ProHeats equal to the AquaHots system.I have the Hurricane (proheat) 50000 BTU unit in my bus and love it

Yeah!! Finally someone besides me with a Hurricane! I have the 61k BTU 45XL but I am a long way from installing it. I hope I can partake of your experience when the time comes. I was just asking the other day if my 45XL was the same as the ProHeat X45.
Logged
makemineatwostroke
Guest

« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2007, 08:13:22 AM »

Songman i don't know if i can help or not as mine was installed by the converter but i can take pictures for you when ready
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!