Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 24, 2014, 03:15:54 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It will not be stolen by your mailman or your neighbor who also may be into buses.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Just a thought- Induction hot water heater(?)  (Read 5720 times)
Chaz

4108, 8V71 w/auto .

Ignore
« on: January 05, 2008, 10:46:25 AM »

I have been reading the threads on induction cooking and it occurred to me, would it be possible to do an induction hot water heater??
 I have ZERO experience in these things, but REALLY like the idea of having a cooktop like this. And from what people say, it heats water like "right now". I'm also under the impression they don't use an exorbitant amount of electricity. I wonder if any of these companies thought about doing hot water heaters with that technology?? Like I said, I haven't a clue how they work but it seems that it could be possible.
  I understand the pots and pans have to be magnetic. 300 series stainless isn't, but 400 series is. (it's usually harder than Chinese arithmatic too!) I'm assuming that would be the material they use in the stainless pans.
  Any of you guys got any knowledge on this??

Just thinkin again,
       Chaz

Pix of my bus here: http://s58.photobucket.com/albums/g279/Skulptor/Motor%20Coach/
What I create here:   www.amstudio.us

"Imagination is more important than knowledge". Albert Einstein
oldmansax
Tom & Phyllis

'82 Bluebird Wanderlodge PT40

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2008, 12:35:56 PM »

Chaz,

I thought I would repost in this ditch thread too:

Seriously, if you used something like the Polaris, all you would need would be the induction heating unit.

You can see specs of the Polaris here:

http://www.americanwaterheater.com/products/pdf/lpg100.pdf