Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 25, 2014, 10:29:07 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an Online Subscription: It will not be stolen by your mailman or your neighbor who also may be into buses.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Why is the board so slow?  (Read 1844 times)
Jerry32
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 726





Ignore
« on: February 13, 2008, 04:15:42 PM »

I have been having trouble even looking at the message board and gave up on posting to some of the threads. Jerry
Logged

1988 MCI 102A3 8V92TA 740
Tenor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 991



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2008, 04:22:55 PM »

I have not had any problems.  I have a DSL connection and it has almost no wait time.
Logged

Glenn Williams
Lansing, MI
www.threemenandatenor.com
1968 MCI 7 Ser. No. 7476 Unit No. 10056
8v71
4 speed Spicer
Busted Knuckle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6447


6 Setras, 2 MCIs, and 1 Dina. Just buses ;D


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2008, 04:23:28 PM »

I have not had any problems.  I have a DSL connection and it has almost no wait time.

Same here!
Grin  BK  Grin
Logged

Busted Knuckle aka Bryce Gaston
KY Lakeside Travel's Busted Knuckle Garage
Huntingdon, TN 12 minutes N of I-40 @ exit 108
www.kylakesidetravel.net

Grin Keep SMILING it makes people wonder what yer up to! Grin (at least thats what momma always told me! Grin)
buddydawg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 614





Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2008, 04:24:19 PM »

I think BK has been using all of the bandwidth!

 Grin Grin Grin
Logged

1972 GMC T6H-5308A #024

Brandon Stewart - Martinez, GA
jjrbus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2313

MCI5C/N Ft Myers FL




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2008, 04:24:29 PM »

No problems here, are you having trouble with other sites or just this one?
Logged

Remember, even at a Mensa convention someone is the dumbest person in the room!

http://photobucket.com/buspictures

http://photobucket.com/buspictures
compedgemarine
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 317




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2008, 04:35:42 PM »

I have the same problem from time to time. usually if I wait 30 minutes or so it works fine again. not sure if it is my connection (possible) or too many users at one time or a comination of both. I have had times where it would take almost a minute to load a page but if I go to most any other website they work fine.
not that any of this helps but you are not alone.
steve
Logged
HighTechRedneck
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2935


BCM Editor


WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2008, 04:45:34 PM »

No problem here either.

Have you been having this problem long or just this session?  Could be an Internet routing problem.  What kind of Internet connection are you using?  If it is an "always on" cable connection, try shutting down all computers connected to it, disconnecting the modem from the cable and unplugging it for at least 60 seconds.  Then reconnect it, plug in the power to the modem and restart the computers.
Logged
compedgemarine
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 317




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2008, 04:50:43 PM »

I have had this problem for a year or so. it only happens to me on occassion. sometimes a couple of times a week then not again for months. I have DSL but I live out  a ways from a town that up until 20 years ago you still had to go through a switch board to make a call. where I am DSL is the best I can get and it is still marginal.
steve
Logged
HighTechRedneck
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2935


BCM Editor


WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2008, 05:28:17 PM »

I have had this problem for a year or so. it only happens to me on occassion. sometimes a couple of times a week then not again for months. I have DSL but I live out  a ways from a town that up until 20 years ago you still had to go through a switch board to make a call. where I am DSL is the best I can get and it is still marginal.
steve

Steve, in your case it is most likely the DSL connection that is lagging occaisionally.  They tend to do that when you live far out.  With DSL, the further you are from the switching center, the slower and more fragile the connection speed is.
Logged
Nick Badame Refrig/ACC
1989, MCI 102C3, 8V92T, HT740, 06' conversion FMCA# F-27317-S "Wife- 1969 Italian/German Style"
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4874


Nick & Michelle Badame


WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2008, 05:30:54 PM »

All Ok here too...

Hay, tomorrow is Valentines Day, Did you get your honey some bandwidth??.....

Nick-
Logged

Whatever it takes!-GITIT DONE! 
Commercial Refrigeration- Ice machines- Heating & Air/ Atlantic Custom Coach Inc.
Master Mason- Cannon Lodge #104
https://www.facebook.com/atlanticcustomcoach
www.atlanticcustomcoach.com
ryoo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 34




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2008, 05:34:37 PM »

FWIW I too have the same problem at work and I think there are to many other people using the internet and when it rains it gets even slower. My home computer does not have the same problem but for sure with the cable.Oh at home I have DSL.
Logged
HighTechRedneck
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2935


BCM Editor


WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2008, 05:44:23 PM »

FWIW I too have the same problem at work and I think there are to many other people using the internet and when it rains it gets even slower. My home computer does not have the same problem but for sure with the cable.Oh at home I have DSL.
Too many users online at once on a connection will definitely slow it down.  Heavy video downloading in a neighborhood can really slow down the connection speed for everyone too.  One of the cable companies is actually experimenting with charging extra to the heavy bandwidth users.  They estimate that less than 10% of users are consuming 90% of their bandwidth due to videos and other file sharing.

If rain is slowing down a cable connection, then there is probably moisture getting into a junction somewhere.
Logged
Hartley
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1217





Ignore
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2008, 07:42:06 PM »

I have a gauranteed pain in the arse, slow and unresponding connection.

If it rains or clouds up good.. No signals at all.

If any of the other 9 trillion people on the same satellite node are playing...

Just give up.... WildBlue... ( 15 minutes to load Secure websites pages )...

I complain, They state my contract back to me and say.. TOUGH!

Typically 2 to 20 second delay from key press to response...

Good Stuff.....

Dave....
Logged

Never take a knife to a gunfight!
HighTechRedneck
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2935


BCM Editor


WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2008, 07:49:03 PM »


... They state my contract back to me and say.. TOUGH!


That's one reason I chose an Internet solution that doesn't have contracts.  Sign into a contract and they have no incentive to keep you satisfied.
Logged
Hartley
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1217





Ignore
« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2008, 07:57:26 PM »


... They state my contract back to me and say.. TOUGH!


That's one reason I chose an Internet solution that doesn't have contracts.  Sign into a contract and they have no incentive to keep you satisfied.


Yeah.. US billionaires can get a "no contract" satellite internet connection...NOT!!!!

If anyone can find one that doesn't break the bank on up front costs and downstream costs let me know... It hasn't happened as far as I know...Not in this lifetime anyway.

The iherant problem is the Docsis modem standards. Wildblue uses the same docsis standards as cable companies use. It's cheap and almost reliable at times.

" Time division signal multiplexing " is what we used to call it...

Dave....
Logged

Never take a knife to a gunfight!
HighTechRedneck
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2935


BCM Editor


WWW
« Reply #15 on: February 13, 2008, 08:04:19 PM »


... They state my contract back to me and say.. TOUGH!


That's one reason I chose an Internet solution that doesn't have contracts.  Sign into a contract and they have no incentive to keep you satisfied.

Yeah.. US billionaires can get a "no contract" satellite internet connection...NOT!!!!

If anyone can find one that doesn't break the bank on up front costs and downstream costs let me know... It hasn't happened as far as I know...Not in this lifetime anyway.


Probably not on satellite systems, but I am using a wireless broadband connection.  I'm not sure how coverage would be out in your area.  But when your contract runs out, you might want to study the possibilities.
Logged
DrivingMissLazy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2634




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: February 13, 2008, 08:11:51 PM »

I have this problem from time to time and I am on cable.

I have found that if I hit the stop loading this page button and then hit the reload current page button it reloads almost instantly. I only wait for a few seconds and if it does not load then I take this action.

Richard
« Last Edit: February 13, 2008, 08:16:24 PM by DrivingMissLazy » Logged

Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body. But rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, a good Reisling in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming:  WOO HOO, what a ride
Hartley
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1217





Ignore
« Reply #17 on: February 13, 2008, 09:32:10 PM »

It may a little thing called "cache" When you load a page it opens a bunch of
files and additional links like google ads and more.

Your computer may be holding things back due to a cache delay while files are being created and written and then reloaded to the display.

Not so much of a problem if you have a fast computer and lots of available memory
but there are days that things just drag and drag...

As for the Wireless Broadband.. Tried that, Small discovery. There are NO and I repeat NO cell signals down here in my valley. With a repeater I could get signal but speeds were generally not all that great due to signal degradation.

It worked great when I was on the road in places that had signal.

I live in a place that they haven't invented cabletv here yet, Nor city water, gas and most other conveniences. Well.. Wait, Up on the Hill they have it all.

It took almost 2 months to get electric power lines and 2 months to get a phone line here. DSL is available but only well after I got wildblue.

Ahh... Well.....
Logged

Never take a knife to a gunfight!
HighTechRedneck
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2935


BCM Editor


WWW
« Reply #18 on: February 13, 2008, 09:48:27 PM »


I live in a place that they haven't invented cabletv here yet, Nor city water, gas and most other conveniences. Well.. Wait, Up on the Hill they have it all.

It took almost 2 months to get electric power lines and 2 months to get a phone line here. DSL is available but only well after I got wildblue.

Ahh... Well.....


Well, Dave, back when you were contemplating moving to Tennessee, I tried to get you to come to the Chattanooga area.   Wink Grin
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!