Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
October 30, 2014, 08:12:25 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: New ownership began September 1st 2012!  Please send any comments to info@busconversions.com
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: IS THE BEST BUS A GMC P8M4905A HELP PLEASE  (Read 5025 times)
Lonnie time to go
Lonnie

Saginaw, Michgan

Ignore
« on: June 02, 2008, 10:37:13 PM »

I have no knowledge of buses please help
I have located a bus for sale it is a 1975 GMC P8M4905A#1265  This bus has underbody storage a raised deck, 8V71 DD mounted on a slant i think trans is on passenger side of motor. I hope it is a good thing it has an   auto trans  ,  motor does run well  new generator.
For a couple grand  $2000.00 would this be a good conversion.
I relize there is no such thing as cheap bills with a bus , but i dont want to spend that much money to start with.
Is this bus hard to get parts for???
Opinions on motor,trans and everything else wonderful good or bad dont matter

1976 4905
Lonnie time to go
Lonnie

Saginaw, Michgan

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2008, 10:45:31 PM »

After reading some other post the shifter is on the passenger side of the driver seat.
it read 123 and D  appears to be no clutch  the  ###P8M4905A  1975 gmc I do believe that
would be manual trans  but the shifter and no clutch shows auto trans Huh??

1976 4905
tekebird

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2008, 11:29:13 PM »

2000 scares me....but....

the 4905 is an excelent bus.  parts are not hard to find at all with the exception of the rear window glass and the upper deck front facing glass, and rubber for those as well.  However it can be found.

find a copetant bus mechanic in your area and have it inspected first or someone quite familiar with the make/model.