Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
August 01, 2014, 01:01:04 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: The dog will not eat it.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Question for DD-3 to Spring Brakes on an Eagle 01  (Read 3383 times)
Dreamscape

« on: October 09, 2008, 07:40:36 AM »

I have a leak on one of my DD-3's. After investigating, downloading and studying, I have a question as I am muddling my way through this. I have no hands on experience with this, but I want and need to learn the best method of diagnosis and reapair.

I got out a trusty spray bottle with soapy water and squirted every hose, fitting and relay I could find. No leaks when service brakes are not applied. You know how much fun that is when you don't have a pit!

When the service brake is applied I have an air leak on the RH facing the front. The leak is coming from the area of the splash guard. (By the way the boot is shot). I am assuming the service diaphragm is shot, as there is no leak when parking brake is applied.

I always hate to assume anything, am I on the right track? If not would you please redirect me. Wink

Thanks in advance for the help,

Paul
« Last Edit: October 10, 2008, 03:53:27 AM by Dreamscape » Logged
Sojourner
Jesus Love You!

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2008, 10:19:37 AM »

Bad diaphragm...remove the largest clamp to R&R diaphragm. You need to take old part to any heavy duty truck parts or NAPA or Car Quest will have them in stock or order over night. The coil spring is easy to compress...not the danger type like in spring brake can.
The reason to take your old part in is that some have larger diaphragm instead of OEM size. Mine did.....size 36 instead of 30.
Boot is to protect rocks & sand as well water during icing weather from getting in.