Bus Conversions dot Com Bulletin Board
September 02, 2014, 07:27:15 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you had an E-Mag Subscription: The dog will not eat it.
   Home   Help Forum Rules Search Calendar Login Register BCM Home Page Contact BCM  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Member with Newell Coach  (Read 3263 times)
RichardEntrekin

Ignore
« on: October 13, 2008, 01:22:54 PM »

Nick Badame harangued me in to joining instead of just lurking. I do all of my own work, and I have used the site a handful of times to find solutions for problems I was having. Spare me the flames that a Newell is not really a bus, I don't pretend to be one of the hard cores.

Anyway, the coach is a 95 Newell with a S60 and Ally World transmission. I sold a much later model very nice sticks and staples Newmar Mountain Aire to buy the Newell. I could not be happier. I am a degreed engineer by training, and a shade tree mechanic by birth.

So far, I have:
Replaced the shocks.
Replaced the dash AC compressor and refilled with r134
Replaced the compressor and gas in residential type fridge
Adjusted steering box, and adjusted toe in for better stability
Changed all fluids and filters.
Replaced relay on one of the house AC boards.
Replaced one of the contactor for the ATS switch
Replaced stock headlights with Euro Spec glass and upgraded light wiring to relays and 12gauge wiring http://www.newellclassic.com/forum/showthread.php?t=785
Reupholstered dinette furniture
Reupholstered driver seat to fit my bony butt.
Reset the windshield gasket with help from this forum
Spent mega hours under bus looking for air leaks   Huh
And the ususal host of ankle biters that come with a house on wheels.

I'll work on my signature

Richard Entrekin
95 Newell, Detroit S 60
Subaru Outback toad
Huntington WV

Often wrong, but seldom in doubt
makemineatwostroke

« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2008, 01:47:45 PM »